Welcome to ScarletKnights.com
    • iPad/iPhone App
    • Find us on Facebook
    • Twitter
    • RSS Feed
    • Get Text Alerts
Three RU Standouts Named to Maxwell and Bednarik Watch Lists
Rice, Foster and Greene Nominated for Prestigious Postseason Awards
  • Posted on June 25, 2007 5:52:31 PM
  • Increase Font SizeDecrease Font Size
  • RSS Feed
  • Subscribe
  • ROSLYN, Pa.  – Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski today announced the 2007 Watch Lists for the 71st Maxwell Award and the 13th Chuck Bednarik Award. Each list is comprised of 65 players who were selected based on their performance during the 2006 season. Rutgers has three players on the lists, including junior running back Ray Rice (New Rochelle, N.Y.) on the Maxwell Award Watch List while senior defensive tackle Eric Foster (Homestead, Fla.) and junior free safety Courtney Greene (New Rochelle, N.Y.) are on the Bednarik Award Watch List.

    The Maxwell Award has been presented to the outstanding collegiate football player in America since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell. The Chuck Bednarik Award has been presented since 1995 and is named in honor of Chuck Bednarik, a former University of Pennsylvania and Philadelphia Eagle great. Mr. Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame 69' and the NFL Hall of Fame 67'.

    Rice was one of three finalists for the Maxwell Award in 2006 after rushing for a BIG EAST single-season record 1,794 yards and 20 touchdowns. The New York native finished second in the nation last season in rushing and earned consensus Second Team All-America honors.

    Foster earned First Team All-America honors by the Football Writers Association of America last year after recording 51 tackles, 14 tackles for loss and six sacks. Both Foster and Rice were named Preseason All-Americans by several media outlets this summer, including Athlon and The Sporting News.

    Greene was a Second Team All-BIG EAST honoree last season after finishing second on the team with 82 tackles. He also led Rutgers with four interceptions.

    Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced in early November and three finalists for each award will be announced November 26th. The winners of the 2007 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 6, 2007. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City in March 2008.

    The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's Selection Committee and the Maxwell Club reserves the right to make additions and subtractions to these lists as the 2007 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA Sports Information Directors, Head Coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for these awards.

    Any questions or requests for additional information can be directed to Maxwell Club Executive Director Bob Clark (bobclark@maxwellfootballclub.org) or to Maxwell Club Vice President of College Awards Mark Wolpert (mwolpert@maxwellfootballclub.org)

    Next Game
    10:30 AM Game Week Press Conference
    Live Video    
    Rutgers Ticket Office
    Rutgers Auctions
    AT&T Text Alerts
    Fan I Am
    New Jersey Audi Dealers
    Join the Jr. Knights Club
    Ask Tom Luicci

    • Millers Rental
    • Acme Nissan

    • Rutgers Center of Management Development
    • NJ National Guard
    • University Pain Medicine Center
    BIG EAST Conference