Rutgers Announces 2016-17 Men's Hoops Schedule

Aug. 25, 2016

Printable schedule Get Acrobat Reader

PISCATAWAY, N.J. - Rutgers men's basketball, under the leadership of first-year head coach Steve Pikiell, plays 14 games against teams that earned 2016 NCAA Tournament berths during a 2016-17 schedule that features 31 contests, including 17 designated home games. The Scarlet Knights will take the floor for six matchups against programs that advanced to the Sweet 16 last season.

RU welcomes four returning NCAA participants to the RAC, including Fairleigh Dickinson (Dec. 14), Iowa (Jan. 31), Michigan (Feb. 22) and Maryland (Feb. 28), and hosts Wisconsin at Madison Square Garden on Jan. 28 as part of the "Super Saturday - College Hoops and Hockey" doubleheader.

Pikiell's first game at the helm will be against Molloy at the RAC on Friday, Nov. 11. RU will also host Drexel (Nov. 13, 4 p.m.; BTN), Niagara (Nov. 20, 12 noon; BTN), North Texas (Nov. 23) and Hartford (Nov. 25) at the truncated pyramid as part of the "Scarlet Knight Showcase." Visiting teams will not compete in supplemental games at the RAC as part of the Showcase. Additional RAC meetings during the non-league slate include Morgan State (Dec. 3) and Central Conn. State (Dec. 6).

On the road in non-conference action, Rutgers travels to DePaul (Nov. 17) in the Gavitt Games, Miami, Fla. (Nov. 30) in the Big Ten/ACC Challenge, Stony Brook (Dec. 10), and Seton Hall (Dec. 23) for the Garden State Hardwood Classic. On Dec. 14, the Scarlet Knights play Fordham in a neutral site game at Madison Square Garden.

Rutgers' third Big Ten season begins at Wisconsin on Dec. 27. The Scarlet Knights also travel to Michigan State (Jan. 4), Iowa (Jan. 8), Indiana (Jan. 15), Maryland (Jan. 24), Penn State (Feb. 4), Ohio State (Feb. 8), Purdue (Feb. 14) and Northwestern (Feb. 18).

In addition to the home games versus Wisconsin, Iowa, Michigan and Maryland, the Scarlet Knights also host Penn State (Jan. 1), Northwestern (Jan. 12), Nebraska (Jan. 21), Minnesota (Feb. 11) and Illinois (March 4) in Big Ten play.

The 2017 Big Ten Championship will take place at the Verizon Center in Washington, D.C. from March 8-12.

To reserve season tickets for the 2016-17 basketball campaign, fans are encouraged to call the Rutgers Athletics Ticket Office at 1-866-445-GORU (4678). Information on ticket pricing, packages and promotions will be announced shortly.

Complete information on the schedule, including times and television designations, will be announced at a later date. The schedule is subject to change.

Follow Rutgers men's basketball on Facebook (, Twitter ( and Instagram ( for additional news and updates.

Print Friendly Version